Browse categories

Isis: Oceanic Remixes / Reinterpretations Vinyl 2xLP


Added to Cart!

You successfully added Isis: Oceanic Remixes / Reinterpretations Vinyl 2xLP to your cart.

• Features remixes from Fennesz, Tim Hecker, Justin Broadrick, Thomas Köner, etc.
• Back on vinyl for the first time in over a decade. Limited pressing of 1500 copies
• Remastered for Vinyl by James Plotkin

Stream the album HERE

Track List:

LP 1
1. Weight (Fennesz Remix)
Remix – Fennesz

2. False Light (Carry Edit)
Remix – Ayal Naor
Vocals – Maria Christopher

3. Hym (Thomas Köner Remix)
Remix – Thomas Köner

4. The Other (James Plotkin Remix)
Remix – James Plotkin

5. Carry (Tim Hecker Remix First Version) Remix – Tim Hecker

6. Maritime (Teledubgnosis Remix)
Remix – Teledubgnosis

7. Maritime (Mike Patton Remix)
Remix – Mike Patton

LP 2
1. The Beginning And The End (Venetian Snares Remix)
Remix – Venetian Snares

2. Carry (Tim Hecker Remix Second Version) Remix – Tim Hecker

3. False Light (Deadverse Remix)
Remix – Oktopus, The*

4. Carry: Like I Will Love Her Forever? (Fuckin Die!!!) (Speedranch Remix) Featuring – Guilty Connector
Remix – Speedranch

5. From: Sinking, To: Drowning (Destructo Swarmbots Remix)
Remix – Destructo Swarmbots

6. Hym (Justin Broadrick Remix)
Remix – Justin Broadrick*

An epic reinterpretation of an epic album. Oceanic is the 2002 album for Isis, rightly viewed as masterpiece of posthardcore aggression and hypnorock velocity. Isis' openended riffs for guitar, bass, and drum are the swollen, mutant descendants of rock minimalism, where the crescendo and control dictate the dynamics of a song, not necessarily melody and harmony. By 2005, Isis had commissioned a number of remixes from Oceanic that were originally a series of 4 singles, then compiled onto a double cd and vinyl boxset. In describing the inception to the project, Isis frontman Aaron Turner suggests, "we thought would understand the original aesthetic/intent while simultaneously bringing their own perspective to it. We wanted to be able to hear own music from an alternate perspective and were hoping these artists would help reveal some of the latent aspects of our music, with a special emphasis on texture and atmosphere."

Those asked to participate were all artists with whom Isis had direct involvement as tourmates
and / or profound admiration, including Christian Fennesz, Tim Hecker, Mike Patton, JK Broadrick, James Plotkin, Thomas Köner, Venetian Snares, Deadverse, Destructo Swarmbots, Speedranch, Ayal Naor, and Teledubgnosis. The remixes essentially fracture the originals
emphasizing and magnifying particular facets and idiosyncrasies to the Isis sound. Fennesz with his signal-heterodyned miasma and Tim Hecker with his two blurred soundpoolsof radioluminescence expand Isis' art of the drone. The Isis dynamics of explodeandrelease are furthered by Ayal Naor and JK Broadrick. Electronic dub of varying depths of deepsea exploration are plumbed by Thomas Köner, Deadverse, and Technodubgnosis. The unconventional turns come from James Plotkin with his Lowery organ reconstruction of Isis' openended riffs, the paisleypop cavalcade from Mike Patton, and the spry electrofunk from Venetian Snares